Apartment Food Hobos

HUNGARIAN SOUP A.K.A. UNGARISCHE RHAPSODIEN A.K.A. VARIATIONS ON A THEME A.K.A CHICKEN SOUP A LA UJHAZY

Posted in carrots, Chicken, Soup, Turnips by apartmentfoodhobos on September 30, 2008

If you don’t love the Magyars then skip this post and just go sit in the backyard in the woodshed for a while.  Now the deal is, I don’t claim that Hungarian cuisine is anything SPECTACULAR (what, just being honest)… but in a way… it kind of is.  Get a good Hungarian recipe and you are set.  You’ll turn into a patriotic young Liszt at the dinner table, composing odes to Laszlos and Ferengys and Nagys and Kossuths and Sandors and Hargitais and all sorts of people.  You’ll be trying to figure out how to score a working visa to abandon your stupid life in North America to go live by the Danube.

What the hell am I talking about?  Oh yeah I picked up this cookbook in Budapest and hot diggity damn there are some fucking awesome recipes in it.  I make the gulyas fairly often, but today I decided to branch out to the chicken soup zone.

Which reminds me.  Here is a website I look at:

http://chew.hu/

UPDATE! I just found a recipe for the same soup on the Chew website.  Here is their version. Mine is below.

Anyhoo…

For this soup you will need:

Chicken
Tomato or Tomato Paste (I mixed things up oddly by using cherry tomatoes)
Black peppers
Ginger
Garlic
Carrots and Parsnips (I used Turnips, what is the difference?)
Celery
Red onion
Parsley
Mushrooms (I skipped the mushrooms since I was out)
Peas
Vermicelli (I skipped that too)

Make the broth with the chicken and veggies as you would normally, then concoct the soup and add the peas at the last minute so they don’t wrinkle like raisins.

Hungarian food has that wonderful sort-of-Asiatic influence… no doubt stemming from the Magyars supposed migration from central Asia.

If anyone would like to sponsor a website designer, crafty person, tech savvy, designer friendly, artsy-fartsy, conceptual yet practical, funny, world-travelling, smoking hot foxy Canadian-American woman to live and work in Budapest please get in touch with me.  I am begging you!  I swear on George Faludy’s grave I’d make a perfect addition to Buda OR Pest!!

Leave a Reply

